Apple Fritters – A Walk Down Memory Lane

by theprimodonna

Maybe it’s the rainy afternoon making me wax nostalgic, or the fact that we’re leaving for vacation soon and I’m trying to clean out the fridge/pantry/produce bins before we leave.  Regardless, I had a few apples to use and considered turnovers and then the epiphany…a childhood favorite…Apple Fritters.  While I was growing up, my father traveled a bit for work.  During his trips my otherwise “June Cleaver” mom would relax her kitchen standards.  We would enjoy scrambled egg sandwiches for dinner, or the elusive Salisbury Steak TV dinner (it was the 70′s after all), but the real treat, especially when we were really missing dad, was apple fritters FOR DINNER.  So tonight, I pulled out  the tattered index card she gave me with the recipe typed on her old manual typewriter.  The results were as sweet as my memories.

Apple Fritters:

1 ¼ c. flour
1/3 c. sugar
1 tsp. baking powder
¼ tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon

¼ tsp. grated nutmeg

½ tsp. vanilla 

1 Tbs. butter, melted
1 egg
1/3 c. milk
1 ½ c. chopped apple cut into ¼” cubes
2 c. oil for frying
confectioners’ sugar

Mix together dry ingredients in a med bowl. In a measuring cup whisk together wet ingredients.  Slowly add to bowl.  Carefully fold in apples. Heat oil in a cast iron skillet or Dutch oven.  Oil is ready when a test drop of dough floats to the top.  Using a soup spoon, place several dollops of dough into the oil.  Watch closely for the underside to turn golden brown, then gently flip over and continue frying until done. Transfer to a paper towel lined plate, and sprinkle with confectioners’ sugar.

