And they call it “Puppy Love”

by theprimodonna

"Hooch"Our dog, Hooch, is becoming a fussy eater in his advancing age.  Ironic, as when he was a pup he ate EVERYTHING.  You name it…clothes, drapery, doors, even an entire bedroom carpet.  Not to mention the time he devoured the interior of my car. So it’s surprising and a little disheartening that he doesn’t have much of an appetite now.

The one thing he does like is “Treats”  I’m not sure if it’s the actual food that he enjoys, or if he’s accustomed that the word “treats” equals a reward for some type of good behavior.  He does a few tricks, like “sit” and “give me paw”, but most frequently he gets a treat for accompanying me to the garden and staying by my side instead of running off as was his former habit.  Now as we’re returning to the house I pet him and tell him he was a good boy and say “treat?”  He trots to the porch and waits at the back door until I catch up, then wags his tail as I pull a treat out of the cabinet.

Yesterday, I was examining the bag of Chicken treats that I bought at a local health food store.  They are made in China.  That just makes me uncomfortable.  I don’t buy groceries for my family that are produced in China and so I determined that I would be baking a batch of homemade healthy treats for our furry kid, hoping that in the process I could pack them full of nutrition.  Apparently, it worked!  Hooch was hovering around the kitchen the whole time I was baking and gobbled down 4 of them as soon as they were cool.  He keeps returning to the kitchen looking longingly at the counter where the latest batch is cooling.

Here’s the recipe:

Doggie Treats for the one you love:

2 eggs

1 clove fresh finely minced garlic

2 tsp sesame oil

1 Tbs corn oil

¼ c fresh parsley

¼ c fresh orange mint

8 oz. canned beans, I used cannellini

¾ c beef or chicken stock, I used homemade game stock without onions

1 c fresh or frozen green vegetable, I used broccoli.  Green beans would also be a good choice.

½ c grated cheddar cheese

½ c milk

2 c cornmeal

1 c whole wheat flour

¾ c wheat germ

3 Tbs nutritional yeast

Additional whole wheat flour as needed for consistency and for rolling dough

 

Pulverize wet ingredients in food processor.  Add dry ingredients.  Add flour as needed for consistency.  Dough should be stiff, not sticky.  Refrigerate dough for 20 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350

Divide dough in half, keeping remaining half refrigerated until use (or freeze for later use).  Using floured hands, shape dough into a ball, kneading in flour until smooth. Roll out dough on flour covered surface to ¼” thickness.  Cut out bone shapes using a cookie cutter, or use a pizza wheel or pastry cutter for geometric shapes.  Place on lightly greased cookie sheet.  Bake for 20 minutes.  Makes approx. 4-5 dozen.

