The Sacrifice of Surrender

by theprimodonna

Passing a church marquee, I saw the words: “Sacrifice small gifts of surrender”.  This particular church was promoting the tradition of giving up something for the Lent season.  At first I was reminded of the verse where Samuel asked if the Lord delighted in burnt offerings and sacrifices as much as obeying His voice. He concluded, “To obey is better than sacrifice” (1 Sam 15:22b).  But when thinking of sacrificing surrender, it takes on a whole new meaning.  What can I surrender as a sacrificial gift to God?    Can I surrender the hopes I have for my children; my plans and dreams for the future; my gifts and talents?  Even more so, what about surrendering struggles and trials? Can I offer their release as a gift?  My friend Susie has had breast cancer 3 times.  She has the most amazing outlook and refers to her disease as “the gift of cancer”.   I know she recognizes that God is sovereign and in complete control, perhaps that’s why she was able to give her cancer back to Him as a gift.  Are there troubles and challenges you are experiencing?  Financial worries, health issues, addictions, family concerns? Can you believe that God allowed them in your life for good?  “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future”(Jer 29:11).  Can you thank Him for the gift of the pain you are experiencing? Can you offer not only your acceptance, but can you sacrifice it as a gift of complete surrender to His plan and purpose?